News ID: 111940
Published: 0656 GMT February 17, 2015

Hodgson: Rooney did not dive

Hodgson: Rooney did not dive

Roy Hodgson insists Wayne Rooney did not dive to earn his side a penalty during Manchester United’s FA Cup victory at Preston.

TV replays showed there was no contact as Rooney avoided the challenge of North End goalkeeper Thorston Stuckmann in the 87th minute of its 3-1 fifth-round win at Deepdale on Monday night, skysports.com reported.

The England captain converted the resulting spot-kick to end the scoring and his national manager believes the game was running too quickly for anyone, including the referee, to see such a fine margin.

“It’s not a dive for me, I think Rooney was just taking evasive action there,” said Hodgson.

“If you’re refereeing the game in the run of play, without all the replays we’ve now seen, I don’t think anybody would have said that's not a penalty.

“The goalkeeper's come out very rashly, gone in with both feet, and Wayne’s touched the ball past him.”

Preston boss Simon Grayson believes Stuckmann made no contact with the United striker but was loathe to criticize Rooney.

“I am not saying it wasn’t a penalty. I am saying there was no contact,” the former Leeds manager said.

“You can interpret that how you want. It wasn’t a dive. He has gone to get out of the way and take evasive action. I am not complaining.”

   
KeyWords
 
Comments
Comment
Name:
Email:
Comment:
Security Key:
Captcha refresh
Page Generated in 0/2213 sec