News ID: 120750
Published: 0635 GMT June 23, 2015

Iran in Pool B of volleyball World Cup

Iran in Pool B of volleyball World Cup

The Asian powerhouse Iran was drawn into the Pool B of the 2015 FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Cup.

The Pool B is comprised of Iran, Argentina, Russia, Poland, Venezuela and an African representative (CAVB1) in Hamamatsu, Japan, wrote.

Iran in its first match will met Argentina, which has Julio Velasco at the helm. Former Iran coach Velasco, 63, helped Iran lift the Asian championships in 2011 and 2013.

The Olympic champion Russia and the World Championship gold medalists Poland will meet in the opening.

Russia won gold at the 2012 London Olympic Games, while Poland claimed the world crown in front of its home fans in 2014. At the most recent World Cup in 2011, Russia won gold and Poland claimed silver, while the then world champion Brazil won bronze.

FIVB Volleyball World League champion USA lead the way in Pool A, which takes place in Hiroshima. John Speraw’s team will face host Japan, World League silver medalist Italy, Australia, Canada and the second African representative (CAVB2).

There are 30 matches in the first round, which take place over five days. Teams are divided into two pools of six teams.

In the second and third rounds teams play three other teams they had not previously played over six days and 36 matches.

At the end of the competition the medals go to the top three teams. The winners and runners-up also earn a place at the Rio de Janeiro 2016 Olympic Games.

The World Cup takes place across Japan from September 8-23 and features 12 sides including the host and the world and two teams from each continental confederation.

Security Key:
Captcha refresh
Page Generated in 0/5809 sec