News ID: 152342
Published: 0705 GMT May 30, 2016

Zob Ahan wins Iran’s Hazfi Cup

Zob Ahan wins Iran’s Hazfi Cup

Zob Ahan of Isfahan powered past Esteghlal of Tehran in penalty shootout to win Iran’s Hazfi Cup Sunday.

The team wins the title for the second year in a row.  In 2014-15 tourney, Zobahan beat the Naft Tehran to claim the title, Tasnim News Agency reported.

Each of the two teams could not score more than once, to see the game end in draw at the end of the second half of the extra time at the Khorramshahr Stadium.

Danial Esmaeilifar gave Zobahan the edge in the 20th minute; while, Esteghlal midfielder Omid Ebrahimi converted a penalty kick in the 56th minute after Yaghoub Karimi was brought down in the penalty area.

This was Zobahan’s fourth championship in Iran’s Hazfi Cup.

Esteghlal is the most decorated team with six titles, followed by Persepolis with five trophies.

Security Key:
Captcha refresh
Page Generated in 0/5072 sec