News ID: 173750
Published: 0702 GMT December 13, 2016

AFC Champions League 2017 draw concluded

AFC Champions League 2017 draw concluded

Recently crowned winner Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors learned its Group Stage opponents for the 2017 edition of the AFC Champions League on Tuesday following the competition’s official draw in Kuala Lumpur.

The Korea Republic giant, which defeated Al Ain 3-2 on aggregate to seal a second continental success, will begin its title defense against Australia's Adelaide United, Jiangsu FC from China and a yet to be decided playoff winner, in what appears to be a decidedly difficult Group H, reported.

Beaten finalist and the UAE’s powerhouse Al Ain will, meanwhile, begin its latest AFC Champions League campaign from Group C where it is set to face formidable foes in the shape of Al Ahli FC from Saudi Arabia, Iran's Zobahan FC and the winner of the playoff between Qatar's El Jaish SC and FC Bunyodkor from Uzbekistan.

Elsewhere, 2013 and 2015 winner Guangzhou Evergrande has been drawn in Group G along with Suwon Samsung Bluewings from Korea Republic, Eastern SC of Hong Kong and Japan's third — yet to be decided — club, while Australia’s Western Sydney Wanderers, champion in 2014, find itself in Group F with K League Classic winner FC Seoul, Japan's second club and one of Shanghai SIPG, Sukhothai FC or Yadanarbon FC.



Group A

1. Al Ahli FC (UAE)

2. PFC Lokomotiv (UZB)

3. Al Taawoun (KSA)

4. Playoff winner (IRN/QAT)


Group B

1. Esteghlal Khouzestan FC (IRN)

2. Al Jazira (UAE)

3. Lekhwiya SC (QAT)

4. Playoff winner (KSA/UZB/BHR)


Group C

1. Al Ahli Saudi FC (KSA)

2. Zobahan FC (IRN)

3. Al Ain FC (UAE)

4. Playoff winner (QAT/UZB)


Group D

1. Al Rayyan SC (QAT)

2. Al Hilal SFC (KSA)

3. Persepolis FC (IRN)

4. Playoff winner (UAE/JOR/IND)



Group E

1. Kashima Antlers (JPN)

2. Muangthong United (THA)

3. Playoff winner (CHN/AUS/PHI/SIN)

4. Playoff winner (KOR/HKG/VIE)


Group F

1. FC Seoul (KOR)

2. Japan 2nd Club (JPN)

3. Western Sydney Wanderers (AUS)

4. Playoff winner (CHN/THA/MYA)


Group G

1. Guangzhou Evergrande FC (CHN)

2. Suwon Samsung Bluewings (KOR)

3. Japan 3rd Club (JPN)

4. Eastern SC (HKG)


Group H

1. Adelaide United (AUS)

2. Jiangsu FC (CHN)

3. Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors (KOR)

4. Playoff winner (JPN/THA/MAS)


Security Key:
Captcha refresh
Page Generated in 1/0441 sec