News ID: 197839
Published: 0211 GMT August 02, 2017

Best APFF Cameraman award goes to Iran's Aladpoush

Best APFF Cameraman award goes to Iran's Aladpoush

Iranian artist Mohammad Aladpoush won the Best Cameraman award at the 57th Asia-Pacific Film Festival.

He received the prestigious award for filming 'A Tale of Love' by Iranian filmmaker Ahmad Ramezanzadeh, IRNA reported.

The 57th Asia Pacific Film Festival (APFF) was recently held from July 28 to 30, 2017 in Phnom Penh, Cambodia, and with it came two victories for Malaysia's very own actor-director Syamsul Yusof and Chiu Keng Guan-directed film, Ola Bola.

Syamsul Yusof won the Best Director award at this year's APFF, as stated by Finas on its official Facebook, while Ola Bola won the Best Editing accolade.

Syamsul was not present at the awards ceremony to receive the award, which was instead accepted on his behalf by Pashah, who represented the Malaysian Film Producers Association.

The young director follows in the footsteps of the late Yasmin Ahmad, who in 2010 received the Best Director award through her movie Mualaf at the 54th APFF in Taipei, Taiwan.

Expressing thanks to his family and production crew, Syamsul also stated that he was grateful 'Munafik' was able to enter film markets outside of its home country despite its religious concept and was accepted by the juries.

Syamsul Yusof had earlier won Best Director for 'Munafik' at the 28th Malaysia Film Festival (FFM 28) and Anugerah Skrin 2016.

Meanwhile, the multi award-winning film Ola Bola bagged yet another award. As mentioned, the film edited by Gwyneth Lee picked up the Best Editing award at the film festival.

Vice President and Head of Astro Shaw, Najwa Abu Bakar, accepted the award and thanked the whole Ola Bola production team as well as the panels of jury for the win.

Ola Bola follows in the footsteps of Loceng Maut (Salehan Shamsuddin) and Jasmin 2 (Johari Ibrahim), which also won Best Editing at the 24th APFF in Sydney, Australia and the 31st APFF in Seoul, South Korea, respectively.

Previous Malaysian talents to have also won at the prestigious film festival include the late Tan Sri P. Ramlee (Best Actor, Anakku Sazali), A. Bakar Ali (Best Cinematography, Sumpah Orang Minyak), Khalid Salleh (Best Actor, Jogho), Sidi Oraza (Best Supporting Actor, Sayang Salmah), Khatijah Tan (Best Supporting Actress, Embun), and Maya Karin (Best Actress, Pontianak Harum Sundal Malam).

The Asia Pacific Film Festival (APFF) has been held since 1954. The first edition, originally named Southeast Asia Film Festival, was held in Tokyo. The 57th edition was supposed to have been held in Thailand in 2014 but the kssing of Thailand's poor health back then prompted a delay which led to it finally being held in Cambodia only this year.

Security Key:
Captcha refresh
Page Generated in 0/6855 sec