News ID: 208711
Published: 0251 GMT January 24, 2018

Germany, Netherlands and France drawn together in UEFA Nations League

Germany, Netherlands and France drawn together in UEFA Nations League
The UEFA Nations League trophy is up for grabs for the teams in League A.

Germany will face old rivals France and the Netherlands after the trio were drawn together in the same three-team group for the inaugural UEFA Nations League on Wednesday.

The three will feature in Group One of League A, the top division of the four-tier tournament that UEFA has introduced to replace international friendlies, Reuters reported.

UEFA, concerned that international football is losing popularity to the club game, has said that the league will provide the top nations with more competitive matches against each other.

However, critics say the competition is too complex, adds to an already overcrowded calendar and, because it provides an additional path to major tournaments, makes it too easy for the top teams to qualify.

Italy, which failed to qualify for this year’s World Cup finals, will face European champion Portugal and Poland in Group Three while Spain takes on England and Croatia in Group Four. Belgium will meet Switzerland and Iceland in Group Two.

The winners of each group qualify for the semifinals, which will be played in June 2019, followed by the final.

The Nations League features all 55 of Europe’s national teams divided into four divisions that are each split into four groups.

Although the new competition is played in addition to the European championship qualifying competition, which will go ahead as usual, it provides a back door to Euro 2020 with one team from each league earning a place at UEFA’s flagship tournament.

League B, the second tier, brings a clash between neighbors Czech Republic and Slovakia in Group One. Ireland must face Denmark, which beat the Irish in last year’s World Cup playoffs, in Group Four, which also features Wales.


League A

Group 1: Germany, France, Netherlands

Group 2: Belgium, Switzerland, Iceland

Group 3: Portugal, Italy, Poland

Group 4: Spain, England, Croatia


League B

Group 1: Slovakia, Ukraine, Czech Republic

Group 2: Russia, Sweden, Turkey

Group 3: Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Northern Ireland

Group 4: Wales, Republic of Ireland, Denmark


League C

Group 1: Scotland, Albania, Israel

Group 2: Hungary, Greece, Finland, Estonia

Group 3: Slovenia, Norway, Bulgaria, Cyprus

Group 4: Romania, Serbia, Montenegro, Lithuania


League D

Group 1: Georgia, Latvia, Kazakhstan, Andorra

Group 2: Belarus, Luxembourg, Moldova, San Marino

Group 3: Azerbaijan, Faroe Islands, Malta, Kosovo

Group 4: FYR Macedonia, Armenia, Liechtenstein, Gibraltar

Security Key:
Captcha refresh
Page Generated in 0/0437 sec