News ID: 217008
Published: 0255 GMT June 20, 2018

UNGA elects Iran as Economic and Social Council member

UNGA elects Iran as Economic and Social Council member

The United Nations General Assembly elected 18 members of the Economic and Social Council to serve three-year terms beginning on January 1, 2019, the UN Information Center (UNIC) in Tehran said in a statement on Wednesday.

Those elected were Angola, Armenia, Brazil, Canada, Egypt, Ethiopia, Iran, Jamaica, Kenya, Luxembourg, Mali, the Netherlands, Pakistan, Paraguay, Saudi Arabia, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and the United States.

The new members were elected according to the following pattern: Five from African States; four from Asia-Pacific States; two from Eastern European States; three from Latin American and Caribbean States; and four from Western European and other States.

The assembly also elected Cambodia, Malta and Yemen to complete the remaining terms of three current council members who had decided to relinquish their seats before the end of their respective terms.



Security Key:
Captcha refresh
Page Generated in 0/4093 sec