News ID: 230873
Published: 0237 GMT September 05, 2018

Parliament approves three new special economic zones

Parliament approves three new special economic zones

A bill on establishing three special economic zones was approved in Iran's Parliament on Wednesday.

The parliamentary session saw lawmakers vote in favor of the bill, ISNA reported.

Once the Parliament and the Guardians Council give their final approvals, three SEZs will be created in Khalkhal, Kiashahr and Fereydoun-shahr, located in the provinces of Ardabil, Gilan and Isfahan, respectively.

The parliamentary session held debates on the establishment of eight free trade zones and 12 special economic zones.

Iran started to experiment with free trade zones in the early 1990s and the first three FTZs were established as per Article 19 of the First Five-Year Economic Development Plan (1991-96). Since then, the total number of such zones has grown to seven, namely Kish, Qeshm, Chabahar, Aras, Anzali, Arvand and Maku.

Security Key:
Captcha refresh
Page Generated in 0/4593 sec