News ID: 233108
Published: 0230 GMT October 21, 2018

Rouhani nominates four new ministers

Rouhani nominates four new ministers

Iranian President Hassan Rouhani proposed four new ministers to run the country’s ministries whose heads have resigned or been impeached by Parliament in recent weeks.

In a letter to Parliament on Sunday, President Rouhani proposed his picks to fill vacancies in the four ministries, Tasnim News Agency reported.

Farhad Dejpasand has been nominated as the new minister of Economic Affairs and Finance. The former minister, Massoud Karbasian, was dismissed by Parliament in late August.

President Rouhani, who accepted the Minister of Industry, Mines and Trade Mohammad Shariatmadari’s resignation a few days ago, chose him as the new minister of Cooperatives, Labor and Welfare, whose previous head, Ali Rabiee, received a vote of no confidence from Parliament on August 8.

The president has named Mohammad Eslami as the new head of the Ministry of Roads and Urban Development.

Abbas Akhoundi released his resignation letter to the public earlier on Saturday, citing disagreements on urban redevelopment as the main reason behind his decision.

Rouhani nominated Reza Rahmani as the minister of Industry, Mines and Trade.

Senior member of the Parliament's Presiding Board Akbar Ranjbarzadeh said the lawmakers will review plans of the proposed ministers and their credentials during a session scheduled for October 28.

Rouhani won a second presidential term in the May 2017 elections.



Security Key:
Captcha refresh
Page Generated in 1/1733 sec