News ID: 252095
Published: 0222 GMT April 29, 2019

Sterling wins FWA award

Sterling wins FWA award

Raheem Sterling picked up the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year award after firing Manchester City toward a potential domestic treble.

Sterling missed out on the PFA Player of the Year gong on Sunday night to Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk but did pick up the Young Player of the Year prize, Eurosport reported.

And now his fine form for City – which has seen him provide 17 goals and 10 assists in the Premier League – has been recognized by the press.

City is two wins from defending its league title, while it meets Watford in the FA Cup final on May. Sterling struck the winning spot-kick as City beat Chelsea on penalties in the League Cup final in February.

Sterling secured 62 percent of the vote to comfortably top the poll ahead of Van Dijk. City teammate Sergio Aguero finished third.

While his on-pitch exploits have been remarkable, Sterling’s staunch quest to combat racism has attracted even more headlines. The 24-year-old has drawn praise for calling out the media’s portrayal of black players and urged football’s authorities to hand out stronger punishments for fans who racially abuse players.

City duo Bernardo Silva and David Silva, Chelsea’s Eden Hazard, Tottenham’s Harry Kane and Arsenal’s Alexandre Lacazette were the other players to receive votes in the polling of more than 400 FWA members.



Security Key:
Captcha refresh
Page Generated in 0/1888 sec